You can now apply online using the above APPLY ONLINE button.
Please ensure you read all the rules under Rules and Criteria. 

The 2021 competition is open to all AUSTRALIAN citizens and AUSTRALIAN resident opera singers only.

Established in 2011, the Joan Sutherland & Richard Bonynge Bel Canto Award is to promote the bel canto style of singing. 

To date $1,201,736 in scholarships and prizes has been awarded.

Previous judges throughout the competition have included Richard Bonynge,
Simone Young, Dame Anne Evans, Christa Ludwig, Ruth Falcon, Dame Ann Murray, James Morris, Deborah Polaski, Jane Eaglen, Bernadette Cullen, Glenn Winslade, Marilyn Richardson, Nance Grant, Brenda Hurley, Lisa Gasteen, Patricia Price, Margaret Russell, Anson Austin, John Pringle, Jennifer McGregor, Michael Lewis, Ghillian Sullivan and Fiona Janes.

2021 Competition - new Criteria

Open to all Australian professional and non-professional opera singers of all voice types 

aged 20-30 as of 1 October.

Three contrasting operatic aria links are required.  One aria must be in Italian.

Entrants must perform arias in their original language and key.

Arias should be no longer than 8.30 mins in length.

Prizes for 2021 - a minimum of $50,000 will be on offer

Up to ten prizes are available ranging from $1,000 to $10,000 including the $5,000 John Wegner
Award (donated by Mignon Wegner) and the $5,000 Tolley Award (donated by Mr & Mrs N Tolley).

Previous 1st Prize winners of the JSRB Bel Canto Award are not eligible to enter the competition.

Grant recipients may enter the competition.